top of page
  • Writer's pictureFemie C. Goles

CLASSROOM MANAGEMENT

Working with too much barriers and difficulties to ponder has never been considered easy by most individuals. But as for me, who eventually appreciated the beauty which diversity has to offer opened myself into the idea that it is the initiative and willingness to break those barriers that will ignite hope in each and every member of the global community.



Since I am handling learners who have difficulty in using the language that I am capable of using, I purposely made a series of gestures and facial expressions that will help establish my own means of classroom management.


I came in to each of my classes with a very strict aura. With my facial features, it was easy for me to establish a strong and powerful image to my students. I smiled at them but only when I had my greetings and introduction, but as soon as I discussed my rules and regulations in the class, I started to embody the persona of the teacher that I envisioned myself to be. They were still very noisy even if I already talked, so I remained standing in front in silence, telling them through my eyes that I will not talk unless everyone gets quiet. After a few seconds the classroom was in a complete silence. I started to reiterate my three main rules: a) listen to the person who speaks in front and only talk if necessary, b) raise your right hand if you want to say something and be recognized, and c) when I raise my fist it means “I want complete silence.” I kept on repeating my instructions until I saw in their faces that they already understood my instruction. Since then, it was never that difficult for me to manage my class for in the beginning, I already set the limitations between I, myself and them, as my students. Whenever it felt like the class was getting noisy, I would just simply raise my first and everyone gets quiet. With this, my cooperating teacher as well as my mentor commended me for which for most of the sections I handled were labelled as “worst sections” but by the time that they were under my supervision, they became very obedient and very attentive as well.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page